About the Awards

 201610 Inyathelo 373 Resize

The Inyathelo Philanthropy Awards were established by The South African Institute for Advancement in 2007 to acknowledge, celebrate and profile those who have committed their personal resources towards broader social development in South Africa. This year Inyathelo celebrated it’s 10th edition of the Inyathelo Philanthropy Awards.Read more about the 2016 Philanthropy Awardees.

Philanthropists are nominated by their peers and members of the communities in which they work or by the non-profit organisations that they support. The awardees are chosen according to specific criteria by a panel of highly respected independent judges and are made in various categories (Arts, Youth, Health, Family etc) in an effort to acknowledge the full spectrum and diversity of philanthropic giving in South Africa.

The awards support Inyathelo's mission to build a vibrant democracy in South Africa with a robust and sustainable civil society supported by a strong local philanthropic movement, rooted in the African cultural heritage of sharing.

Inyathelo believes that by publicly acknowledging and honouring those philanthropists who have committed personal funds in a strategic way, we can encourage more individuals to set up private charitable trusts and foundations in the interests of social development.

The Awards Programme is supported by the Kresge Foundation in the USA, Distell, The Atlantic Philanthropies and many others.