Celebrating our youth making a difference (Part 2)

This is the second part of our tribute to some of the youth that have inspired us over the past few years, and have been awarded the Inyathelo philanthropy awards for their amazing efforts.

We are starting with Afeefah, who is the youngest ever recipient of one of our awards. At her tender age, Afeefah wasn’t scared to speak up when she noticed a wrong that needed to be righted. Along with our other past recipients, she is an example to us all of what the youth are able to achieve!

Celebrating our youth making a difference (Part 2)

afeefahpatelAfeefah Patel (2013 Inyathelo Award for Children in Philanthropy)

At Just 8 years old, Afeefah was the youngest ever recipient of our Award for Children in Philanthropy and is also the youngest person to be awarded the prestigious SANParks Kudu Award for her work to protect rhinos from poachers. In 2013, concerned about the plight of the Rhino, Afeefah Patel wrote a letter to a newspaper requesting that President Zuma “look after the rhinos”. President Zuma responded and, thanks to afeefah’s efforts, a national anti-poaching campaign was born.

In 2014, Afeefah led a march protesting against Rhino, Lion and Elephant Poaching. She also met with President Zuma to discuss anti-Rhino poaching efforts. She was the February 2014 Lead SA Heroine and was the recipient of numerous other awards.

amonmasekoAmon Maseko (2012 Inyathelo Award for Youth in Philanthropy)

Amon set up the ‘Upbeat Youth Centre’ in Tweefontein, Mpumalanga, which provides computer training, mentorship and life skills for young people struggling to find direction and work in the area. Amon wants to encourage a passion for education so that disadvantaged youngsters can improve their own lives. He believes that it is essential that effective programs are developed in rural areas, in order to create self-sustaining rural communities and discourage relocation to the, already heavily populated, urban areas.

patrickmashandaPatrick Mashanda (2013 Inyathelo Award for Youth in Philanthropy)

Patrick established Hope Warriors Children’s Charity, in Soshanguve, north of Pretoria, in response to the challenges that he himself experienced growing up. His aim is to create a stable, safe and loving environment for children and teenagers after school.  He believes that the path to success is through education and devotes his time and energy assisting children in making the most of their education. Hope Warriors offer a variety of afterschool programmes like literacy and numeracy, homework assistance and various extra-murals.


kgomotsomokoenaKgomotso Mokoena (2014 Inyathelo Award for Youth in Philanthropy)

Kgomotso, an attorney specialising in labour and media law, is one of 8 WITS graduates who decided to start the ‘Spread luv movement’. They wanted to inspire disadvantaged young people and put them on the path to success. Kgomotso placed her personal resources at the disposal of this project and, together with her colleagues and friends, continues to provide career guidance and advice, via workshops, to hundreds of high school learners each year.

Kgomotso was listed as one of Mail and Guardian's 200 Young South Africans to Watch in 2015.


Tyrone Aaron (2015 Inyathelo Award for Children in Philanthropy)

Tyrone started playing the piano when he was 6 years old and was composing his own songs within a few years. Before his tenth birthday, he heard about the possible closure of The Little Eden Home, a home for people with intellectual disabilities. He was so upset about the closure that he asked his mother to organise a concert to raise funds for the home. The concert raised R30 000. Since then, Aaron has assisted children who suffered during the xenophobia crisis, as well as the Marakana mining strikes, by hosting concerts with the only admittance charge being warm clothing and shoes to pass on to those in need.  

Tyrone has also raised over R45 000 for the Sabi Sands Conservation Trust and Rhino SA and was later inducted as a Rhino SA Ambassador. Tyrone was the recipient of Lead SA’s Youth Hero award in September 2015.